ANCA Eastern Region Brings Together Hundreds of Activists at 16th Annual Gala in Dearborn, Michigan

Dearborn, MI – More than 200 community members and leaders gathered at the 16th annual Armenian National Committee of America Eastern Region’s Gala on Saturday, October 29, 2022, at the historic Dearborn Inn to mark the year’s progress and recognize those whose work significantly impacts the Armenian Cause. Michigan’s WXYZ News Channel 7 reporter Alex Bozarjian presided over the evening, which began with a cocktail hour and silent auction at 6:30 pm followed by dinner and awards ceremony at 7:30 pm. 

The region honored six deserving individuals throughout the evening including award-winning filmmaker Jivan Avetisyan, Michigan Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence (D-MI) and former Michigan Congressman David Trott (R-MI) with the ANCA Eastern Region Freedom Award, longtime ANC of Michigan activist Narses Gedigian with the ANCA Eastern Region Vahan Cardashian Award, Detroit Piston’s Assistant Coach and Armenian National Team Coach Rex Kalamian with the ANCA Eastern Region Pinnacle Award, as well as ANCA Leo Sarkisian Internship Fellow Natalia Matossian. 

The ANCA Eastern Region Freedom Award is the highest honor the region bestows upon individuals who exhibit extraordinary courage and devotion to freedom and justice. Avetisyan, Congresswoman Lawrence and Congressman David Trott join a long list of notable recipients, some of whom include US Ambassadors to Armenia John Evans and Samantha Power; Senators Robert Menendez, Ted Kennedy, Bob and Elizabeth Dole, Mark Kirk, Chris Van Hollen and Ed Markey; Congresswoman Niki Tsongas, Baroness Caroline Cox; NYT best-selling author Chris Bohjalian; Ambassador Robert Morgenthau and the Morgenthau family, The Promise’s Dr. Eric Esrailian and Terry George, author and media personality Sona Movsesyan and international human rights attorney Siranush Sahakyan.