Armenian Observers in Turkey’s Parliamentary Election

Share this:

A delegation led by the European Armenian Federation for Justice and Democracy (EAFJD) was invited by the Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP, Halklarin Demokratik Partisi) for a short-term observation mission to  the Parliamentary Election in Turkey on June 7.

EAFJD delegation with Garo (Garabed) Paylan, newly elected Armenian member of the Turkish Parliament with the HDP

The delegation was comprised of Kaspar Karampetian (President, EAFJD), Bedo Kurkjian-Demirdjian (PR and Communication, EAFJD), Vera Yacoubian (Executive Director, Armenian National Committee of the Middle East), Peter Petrossian (Chairman, Armenian National Committee of Belgium), and George Aghjayan (Member, Armenian National Committee of America, Eastern Region).

In a statement issued in May, the EAFJD supported the HDP and called on the Turkish citizens of Europe to vote in favor of HDP, taking into consideration the party’s inclusiveness of minorities and their rights, promotion of open democracy, and challenge to Erdogan’s autocratic aspirations.

Prior to the June 7 election, the EAFJD delegation was briefed by HDP on the attacks, intimidation, fear, smear campaign, and terror, and all other legal and illegal difficulties the party faced. HDP co-president Selahattin Demirtas was personally targeted by the ruling AK Party for “collaborating” with the Armenian Diaspora.

AKP smear campaign against HDP and Demirtas for ‘collaboration’ with Armenian Diaspora

On election day, the EAFJD-led delegation visited a number of electoral districts and centers, noted the irregularities and difficulties that the opposition parties in general and the HDP in particular faced. The findings of the delegation will be published in a report in the coming days.

After the ballots were cast, the delegation followed the election results at the HDP Istanbul Central Office, where many voters were assembled to celebrate the victory. The delegation was also present at the press conference given by HDP co-presidents Figen Yuksekdag and Selahattin Demirtas.

Three Armenians—Garo Paylan (HDP), Markar Esayan (AKP), and Selina Ozuzun Dogan (CHP)—were elected, and  became the first Armenians to enter parliament since 1961.

Karampetian, president of EAFJD, welcomed the results of the elections. “We are happy that three Armenians are elected to the Parliament, and at the same time we are pleased that HDP could exceed the threshold of 10 percent that would allow them to enter the Parliament with an unprecedented representation,” said Karampetian, adding, “We have already stated that a HDP parliamentary group in the Grand National Assembly of Turkey would mean the presence of a party that will struggle for freedom, equality, peace and justice.”

EAFJD delegation with Figen Yuksekdag, co-President of HDP

The post Armenian Observers in Turkey’s Parliamentary Election appeared first on Armenian Weekly.

Source: Weekly
Link: Armenian Observers in Turkey’s Parliamentary Election